Telling : Marshall, Round 2, Summer

So, stupidly, I forgot to change the Maxis seasons, so it starts in Summer and ends in Spring… grrr…  So this is the first three months, but it’s summer, not fall.

Candi Marshall is 25, Lane Marshall is 25

She was practising what she would say to him, when she told him the news.  She hoped he took it well… but what if he didn’t?

“Hey darling, what are you doing?”  He asked her, walking in right behind her.  She jumped.  Had he heard?

“Oh… just practicing a speech for work… you know.”

He bought it, nodding his head.

She grabbed a bowl of cereal and gobbled it down.  She was so hungry, all of the time.  How had he not noticed?

Then she moved to the keyboard, absentmindedly tapping out a lullaby.  She shook herself out of her reverie.  He might hear.

Soon enough she couldn’t hide it anymore though, her stomach was just getting too big.  She waited until he returned home from work, smiling.  He’d gotten another promotion.

“Baby, do you remember a few months ago… when I went to the doctor because I was feeling sick?”  She began.

“Yeah, why?  Is everything all right?”  He said, concerned.  He started to walk towards her.  Now or never.  She had to tell him.

“Well… I wasn’t sick.   I’m… I’m pregnant.”  She burst out.  His eyes widened in shock as he came towards her.

Now he was truly seeing her for the first time.  She’d just gotten so big over night… how had he not noticed.

“Lane… are you mad at me?”  She whispered.

“No!  Why would you think that?”  He replied, aghast.

“You-you said that you didn’t want kids yet.”

“Yes, I know, but I don’t object to having one now!”  He replied.

He leaned in towards her stomach, patting it softly.

“Hey there little guy!  It’s your daddy speaking!  How are you today?”  He asked her belly, jumping back when he felt the baby kick.

“I’m so happy.”  Candi said simply, staring into his eyes.

He stared back, his eyes shining with happiness.

“Me too darling, me too.”

She was glad she’d told him.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    maisie said,

    Oh yeah, glad he took it so well! And wow I can’t believe he hadn’t noticed!! lol

  2. 2

    cohenlegacy said,

    I’m glad he took it well! I was panicked for her.
    This is really interesting. 😀

  3. 3

    Tessa said,

    Maisie: Yeah, I figured that he’d kind of be in self-denial. You know, the whole “Oh no, that couldn’t possibly happen, she must just be fat.” kind of thing.

    Cohenlegacy: Thanks for the compliment, and for checking out the site! Hee hee, I’m glad you like the post, I tried to write it all “suspensfully” and stuff 😀

  4. 4

    nessva said,

    Yay! I’m so relieved for Candi – thank goodness he took it so well 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

