Without a doubt: Lordin, Round 3, Summer

Hannah Lordin is 15

She’s been doing things by herself lately, trying to survive by herself.

A lot of days she’ll just go to the pool,

Swim away her worries, one stroke at a time.

But some days, she just needs a hug.

Today, however, her friends are coming over to the horrible shack of hers.  Micah and Ellissen are inseparable now, and he can’t thank Hannah enough for introducing each-other.  Hannah thinks that Ellissen might have a thing for Micah, and after what she’s been through, Hannah will do anything to at least make someone happy.

Micah can be a distraction, but just when she needs it most.  Who else does she have to stop her from moping by telling her a story about being a baseball superstar who travels the world?

“Hannah, you should’t be living here by yourself!  It’s not safe.  I mean, seriously, look at that fridge, I think there’s a new species of animal growing on that, and I swear, there’s a body outline on the floor.”  He nags.

“I’m sorry, Micah, but it’s all I can afford right now.  I’m only fifteen.  I was lucky enough to get that job at the corporation in town, but who knows if I’ll get to continue that when I graduate high school.”

“Don’t you want to go to college? ”  Ellissen asks, her soft voice, too often the voice of reason.

“Right now, it’s just not feasible.”  Hannah replies with a sigh.

Later on, Hannah doesn’t hear Micah talking to Ellissen.

“Look, my mom’s the mayor, and she been talking about this guy she just appointed to child services… he sounds like a pretty nice guy.  Maybe I should arrange a meeting with him for Hannah…”

“I guess, it seems like the right thing.”  Anything to get her out of here.  This place is a mess.”  Ellissen agrees.

To bee continued…

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mlittlepaw said,

    I hope she gets to college! She needs to make more money so she can get outta that shack! But LOL at the “Body outline” on the floor!

  2. 3

    maisie said,

    Hannah is such a sweet girl, she has things rough but she’s still thinking of others and how to make others have some happiness.

    I hope things work out and she can get a better start then she is having right now.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

