Learning From Windows: Barrett, Round 4, Spring

Michael Barrett and Katherine Andelique are 24

Michael and Katherine found the Reynolds residence easily enough.  She’d moved from her previous residence, but it wasn’t really that hard to find her.

They greeted her, and she seemed nice enough, but there was something about her… an air of sadness.

When they asked her the first question, where was the man called Lave Testy living, and why had she moved, she gave them an angry look.

“I don’t know where Lave went, and quite frankly, I don’t care.  He left me, alone and by myself, because he was involved in some shady business, and I moved because I didn’t want him to come back.  If it was just me, I’d probably be still in that apartment.  It was nice, I liked it, but now I have to look out not only for myself, but for my baby.  And I don’t want him to hurt my baby.”

“You mentioned a baby… who is the father?”

“Lave.  Figures.”  she let out a short, kind of bark laugh

“I’d prefer him not to know, I don’t want to lose Nicky.”

“You also mentioned “shady business”.  Please explain.”  Katherine added.

“I-I don’t know.  There was a man in a striped t-shirt, he was blonde, had a beard, and wore a beanie.  There was also a fat, red-haired lady.  Lots of conversations whispered.  Something about money and a bank.”

“Thank you for your help, Mrs. Reynolds.”  Taja sighed and looked down at the table.  She didn’t really care what this was about, she just wanted them to leave.

As they walked away, Michael looked back and stared through the window.  What he saw was a Taja much different than the one they had interviewed.  She held her son Nicholas, or as she called him, Nicky, tightly, stroking his head.  She lightly planted a kiss on his head, and Michael saw her lips move.

“I won’t let them take you, Nicky.”

Michael smiled wryly.  You could learn a lot from windows.

**********************

  • Teehee, slipped in some Nicky spam.  I like him 😀
  • As you can see, this furthered the Lave Testy investigation, and you can probably pick up on a little more of what he did now.
4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    maisie said,

    I really like the nickname Nicky for him. I like seeing the softer side of Taja with Nicky through the window. I hope things work out well for these two, and Lave doesn’t bring anymore drama to their doorstep.

    • 2

      Tessa said,

      Yes, me too, I think she’s too stiff sometimes, but in this one you kind of got to see a softer side of her. And Lave… well, you’ll just have to wait and see 😛

  2. 3

    Carla said,

    My Nick used to go by Nicky when he was a kid. It’s cute.

    Does Katherine have alien eyes or is it just the angle? I never noticed that before.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

