How to Describe: Barrett, Round 6, Winter

Michael Barrett and Katherine Andelique are 26

He doesn’t exactly know how to explain their relationship.  It’s not really dating, but it’s certainly more than just a friendship.

They are passionate, hungry for each other.  They love, they love each other, they love others.

She’s a funny woman, confident enough to talk to her reflection, to compliment it even, while in her underpants, in the middle of their apartment.

That same confidence carries over into what Michael considers to be “more important things”.  She’s a beautiful woman, and he’s sure to tell her that.

This is why it surprises him when she’s suddenly silent at dinner.  He asks her what’s wrong.

“Well, I- I haven’t been feeling well lately, so I took some tests… and they came back positive.  I’m pregnant.”

“Oh.”  He says.  His eyes are boring holes into his bowl, and Katherine pretends not to notice.

Later that night, after work, he crawls into bed.  Katherine is already asleep, tired from the pregnancy.  From the pregnancy.  He rolls the words around in his head.  He’s too young to be a father.  He’s not sure if he wants to be a father.  Children cramp your lifestyle.  It’s harder to sneak women in with their eyes always watching, always remembering.

The next day, he comes home from work a little bit later than usual, having to type some papers up first.  Katherine is at the table, reading the newspaper.  He can’t help but notice that she’s changed her clothes.  Something a little more loose, although he can’t see any bulge.

“Michael, look!  There’s this wonderful little store that sells all types of baby products, like clothing, and toys and things.  We should check it out after work tomorrow!”  He stops, not sure what to say.

“What do you mean?  I was thinking that tomorrow after work we could stop by the clinic, schedule an appointment.”

“For an ultrasound?”  She asks.  He pauses.

“No, Katherine.  For an abortion.”

“What are you talking about?”  She asks.

“An abortion.  You know, to get that thing out of you.  I know you, you don’t really want a little kid running around, messing everything up, do you?”

“Well then, perhaps you don’t know me as well as you thought.”  She says, setting the paper down on the table and storming out of the room.  She closes the bathroom door, but he can still hear her crying.

Later that night he walks out to the kitchen to find Katherine there already.

“Oh, what do you want?”  She asks aloofly.

“Gosh, what’s your problem?”  He chuckles.

“My problem is you!  I’m pregnant, with your child, and your treating it like some sort of pet fish!  As if we can just return it or something and forget about it!”

“Oh come on Katherine, I really think you’re over-reacting.  I mean, really?  It’s not even that far along yet, we can just nip it in the butt and forget about it!  We can get our lives back to normal!”

“You son of a bitch!  Don’t you even care about your child?”  The words are flying back and forth now, like bullets on a battle field.

“How do you even know it’s my child?  I bet you sleep around with lots of men!”

She takes a deep breath, trying to calm herself.

“Michael, I, unlike you, haven’t been sleeping around.”

“Then why do you dress like that?”

“It makes me feel good about myself, to know that I could have the power to do what I want if I want to, to whomever I please.  It makes me feel beautiful.  But I’m willing to change for this baby.”

He laughs.

“Katherine, you couldn’t change if you tried!  You’re lucky you have me here to talk some sense back into you!”

“Michael Barrett, I don’t need you, and I definitely don’t need your ‘sense’.”  She ends the argument with that, and storms into their room.  Michael just laughs and walks into the kitchen to get some water.  Women, they’re crazy!

Twelve minutes to one, and he hears the front door slam.  Katherine is walking out, taking powerful strides towards the door.  From the window he can see a cab at the apartment complex entrance.  He starts to run towards her, than stops.  She can’t actually be leaving.  He knows her, she won’t be able to handle by herself.

Katherine stops right before she exits the building.  What is she doing?  Maybe Michael’s right after all.  But those thoughts stop her only for a moment.  She has to follow her heart.  This little baby growing inside of her is a real thing, a human being, and she’s not going to let it die.  She works in intelligence to stop murders, to prevent them, not to cause them.  And she gets in the cab.

*********************

  • So, I haven’t been updating the Barrett people as recently as everyone else, because I keep forgetting that they’re there, oops :{
  • However, now that this drama has sprung up, I feel I am quite likely to remember them!
  • Katherine’s baby is due Fall of Round 7, and I am going to add her to the playable list because of that.
4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    antsims3 said,

    wow, I love the drama. Im happy for Katherine that she’s keeping the baby. Powerful woman! 😀 I hope Michael can come to his senses before the baby’s born. Great update!

    • 2

      Tessa said,

      I’m not sure if Michael will come to his senses or not, I’ll just have to see what he does in game. Glad to see you’re enjoying the drama 😛 !

  2. 3

    Carla said,

    I hope Katherine and her baby go on to lead a very happy and successful life, withOUT Michael! I kind of want her to stick it to him. 😉

    • 4

      Tessa said,

      Haha, I can sooo see her sticking it to him 😛 They were arguing a lot in game, yet ACR-ing like crazy! We’ll have to see what Michael does.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

