Distraction: Barrett, Round 7, Fall

Michael Barret is 27

It’s so much quieter in his apartment now that Katherine is gone, but he’s gotten used to it. She’s been gone almost a year anyways.

He’s got lots of distractions from her though, there seems to be a plethora of single women in his apartment, and  none of them can seem to resist him.  Not that he particularly minds that.

Work is the same, monotonous affair, minus Katherine of course, but he’s been promoted now, so at least he gets a better carpool car now.

But as he walks home from work one afternoon, he can’t help but think he’s forgetting something.

He goes to check the calender, and that’s when he notices it.  The date, surrounded by a thick red circle.  Katherine’s handwriting is on it. “Nine Months, possible due date.”  The date circled is a few weeks earlier.

He grabs the phone and dials, his fingers shaking.  He holds it up to his ears.  One ring.  Two rings.  Three rings.  Four rings.  Five rings.  Gosh, will it ever stop ringing?  And it does.

“Hi, you’ve reached the Andelique residence.  I’m not able to answer the phone right now, so please leave me a message after the tone, and I’ll try to get back to you as son as possible.”

He sighs, and hangs up.  Maybe another time.

For some reason, it eats him up, not knowing.  So he calls again the next morning, and the morning after that, and the morning after that, and finally, she answers.

“Hello?”

“Katherine, it’s Michael.”  There’s a pause on the other line.

“Katherine, are you there?”

“Yes…”

“Did you already have the baby?”

“Yes.”

“Can I see her?”

“I’d rather talk to you about it first.”

“Fine, come over to my place and we can talk.”

And it is agreed.

He can’t stop thinking about her…  and he doesn’t want to.  So he calls up one of his old girls, Brittany.

She’s just there for a good time, and that’s what he wants.  It keeps his mind away from other things.

He kisses her good-bye and sends her on her way.

He doesn’t know it, but they pass each-other as Brittany leaves.  She’s smiling, happy and content.

The other is sad, worried, and ready to do business.

She knocks on the door, and waits for a moment before he answers.

She doesn’t even get a word in before he starts to yell.

“Why didn’t you tell me?  Don’t I have a right to know?”

“You said you didn’t want to be apart of her life!  You wanted me to get an abortion!  I think that’s enough of a reason not to tell you about her!”

“It’s a girl?”  Katherine stiffens, she’s already said more than she wanted to.

“Yes, it’s a girl.  Her name is Rachel.”

“So when can I see her?”  He asks, confident that he’s won this argument.

“Not until you have legal representation, that’s when.”  She says, then storms out.

He goes to bed, confident that she’ll change her mind soon enough.  She always does.

But a week goes by, and there’s still no call.  And he realizes that he might have lost this one for good.  And he cries.

********************

  • Hah!  Finally Michael got what he had coming to him!  Justice is served!
  • He will get to meet Rachel eventually, and I’ll probably work out some sort of visitation thing, so he’ll at least know his daughter, but I’m not quite sure what will happen beyond that.
  • Also, this is the second day of my forced three week family road trip, so all of the posts for about three weeks have been scheduled.  I’ll try to reply to comments when I have internet, so don’t worry about it if I don’t reply for a while.
6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Carla said,

    Well, I’m afraid Michael’s brought this on himself, so I can’t say I feel too sorry for him! He did have his chance.

  2. 3

    S said,

    I’m not feeling very sorry for him either. I don’t blame Katherine for not letting him see Rachel until they work out a legal arrangement!

  3. 5

    maisie said,

    I hope things work out for the best with Rachel, and that however it goes, she grows up well. I wonder if she will have a good relationship with her father or not.

    • 6

      Tessa said,

      Yes, I’m a little excited to see how things will go with Rachel as she gets older, but at this point, I really don’t know how her relationship with Michael will be, we’ll just have to wait and see!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

