I’ve Been Spammed!!!

Well, okay, I’ve been spammed before, I just haven’t mentioned it (48 times to be exact!) but this was just too weird to pass up!

So, I check my comments, and lo and behold, I see I have *5* awaiting spam comments!  “Ooh, goody!”  I say to myself, there’s nothing I like more than a good spam comment!  I mean, these things are so random and weird, it sometimes just blows my mind. You have no idea how many times I’ve gotten comments from drug abuse therapy business and landscaping companies… yeah… weird…

But anyways, back to our regularly scheduled program:  So I check my spam folder, and four out of the five are from someone who has “cleverly” disguised themselves. The first is from “Rouletterick” and he says: “Great ideas. I will use these in every day life.”  Um, no “Rouletterick”, you won’t use these in everyday life. Because you commented on the latest Fief post I did, which really had no real-life applications, unless you consider learning how to move out the sim way could be used for every day life… because I sure don’t!

The second comment is from “Roulettejack”  Ooh, real clever one, I wonder who you are?  “Roulettejack” would like to inform me of how deep the latest Fief post was, and how it really made him think about roulette.  Didn’t see that one coming!

The third comment comes from “Rulet jatek”  Now he is disguising the spelling of roulette, did you guys catch that one?  He says, “Great idea, thanks for this post!”  This was also in the Fief post. Um, last time I checked, there were no “great ideas” in that post, unless you consider moving out of your sim house and leaving your cheating sim husband a good idea…

Finally, the fourth comment, from “Ruletrick” (wow, what ingenuity this guy possesses!) says “This is really unbelievable. I can’t believe this article.”  This was my reason for writing this post (well, other than the fact that I’m super bored on this road trip), because I wasn’t sure if this was a real comment or not. I’m pretty sure it’s not, but it could be read as in the “Wow, you’re such a nerd, I can’t believe you spend time writing this crap, especially when you could be playing roulette!”  or as in “Wow! This is really unbelievable! Your sim writing skills are prolific and have made me want to pause in my roulette playing ways!”  For some reason, I’m just thinking it’s spam though…

Roulette spammer guy also would like me to know that he has linked himself over to lots of nice roulette tip/playing sites, just in case I want to play roulette!  Also, displaying yet another feat of being a master of incognito, all of Roulette spammer guy’s e-mail addresses start with the same thing, just have different numbers at the end. (Whoa, I would never guess that they were the same spammer, right?)

The fifth comment was very nasty and inappropriate, but, at least it wasn’t from roulette guy! I’m guessing he has a friend or something.

Oh Blogger people, I envy you, you have a way better spam protection system than WordPress, although at least WordPress quarantines possible spam comments before submitting them for approval first.  Anyways, sorry for my little spam comment rant, but I just thought I might point out to roulette spammer guy that he didn’t exactly achieve what he was aiming for. Also, if you are reading this and are a spammer, perhaps you might re-consider your spamming ways? Really, it’s no fun for anyone, and it can just be down right inappropriate in content at times. There are younger people who blog, and they really don’t deserve to get spam comments with explicit content in them.

Oh, and by the way “Rouletterick”, this has definitely convinced me to not play roulette, if this is what you can expect as an outcome.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    maisie said,

    It’s worse when you you use wordpress on your own domain, the spam control is no where near as diligent as it is when hosted by WP.

  2. 3

    Carla said,

    I can count on one hand the number of spam messages I’ve received. I didn’t realise it was a WordPress vs. Blogger thing though. Well, I guess Blogger had to do something right, lol!

    I actually do like Blogger a lot but they really have had some royal stuff-ups in their time, which I’ve never seen on WP blogs.

    • 4

      Tessa said,

      Haha, yeah, Blogger has a much better Spam protection system than WordPress for sure! I like Blogger too, I almost used it, but I’m quite satisfied with WordPress, so I don’t really know if I would switch or not. They both seem to have their perks and their downfalls.

  3. 5

    I’m surprised; WP does a good job with my spammers. Often times, I do not even realize that some posts were flagged and waiting in the spam folder until a week or two later. I guess I need to look for that from now on.

    • 6

      Tessa said,

      Lol, yeah. I usually check comments pretty regularly, and I like to keep an eye on the spam folder at the top, just in case. They won’t go through to your posts or anything at least, but they still pop up 😦

  4. 7

    Stephanie said,

    Dumb spam comments! What is k up with them!

  5. 8

    Stephanie said,

    Sorry I didn’t check the spelling on my last comemt a random k showed up’


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

